Skip to content
May 22, 2013 / Vanilla Chocolate

How do you find this email? I find it patronizing!?!?


Hi,

So I work in a MNC in India and basically there are thousands of us in my company who work an out-sourced job. On occasion of a client visit to our office  we had the following email in-boxed to every employee in the department.  I wanted to put it up on this blog straight away and wanted to know your views on it and what it makes you think!.

Dear All,

We have —<insert client name>—– client visiting <Place Name> office and AMS floor on May 23rd. Client floor walk is scheduled between 12pm to 2pm on D3F.
Please be available on your seats as we need to showcase healthy presence on the floor during India afternoon hours.

Request all of you to read below mentioned points carefully and adhere to the same.

Dress Code:

It is important to maintain overall professional outlook and be dressed professionally. Please read through below link for a refresher on the same:

Usage of Cell Phones:

Please turn off the ringer on your cell phone, set it to vibrate mode.

Movement on the Floor:

Please avoid conversations across cubicles/bay areas and keep voice levels low. Do not form groups on the floor passages/within projects for any meetings/discussions. Kindly use meeting rooms for the same.

Work Space and Systems:

Please use password protected and firm supported screen savers only on your system. No PHI, log-in ids or passwords should be left around your work stations or on the white-boards.
Always lock (CTRL + ALT + DEL) your system whenever you need to be away.

Individual Cubicles:

Please keep your cubicles clean by making sure all crumpled/scribbled papers are thrown away. All papers put up need to be properly placed (pinned up at all four corners).
Pictures/personal belongings should be placed tidily.

Language:

Avoid use of regional language inside the office premises. All conversations need to be in English.

In general, decorum needs to be maintained on the floor at all times. We are a professional organization and that needs to be demonstrated through our actions.

If you have any questions or need any clarifications, please feel free to reach out to your respective managers.

Thanks,

I thought that these are basic office etiquette that need to be followed in a professional services firm and if your employees generally do not follow them, there is a management problem. But instead of a finding a good solution a short cut etiquette fix email is sent across. Quite disgusting! I found that email demeaning, what do you think?

CHOCOLATE.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. bridgeqt / May 22 2013 10:34 pm

    I think that it is an email that could be sent to any group of employees when clients are visiting. If you are someone who thinks you are always being put down, then this might be a problem for you. There could be a more important problem for you or your firm if an employee did something out of line.

    • Vanilla Chocolate / May 22 2013 11:03 pm

      Thanks for your comment, I am not completely sure how one could take it, so I ask for opinions. But, my point is that when the client is not around why aren’t you concerned with the sanity of the work place or do you not care? Or why do you want to change it all completely when a client from another culture visits.To me that aspect of it doesn’t sound great. Points like do not speak in your regional language and only speak in English sound repressive to me. How does it matter to a client what language is being spoken around by the employees. I don’t think such an email would be circulated to employees on an onsite location or say in a place like France or Germany.

      And about me, perhaps I could be someone to feel let down on many occasions but others could tell me better if this email could be worded better than to seem like instructions to a bunch of college going students.

  2. American Punjaban PI / May 27 2013 3:04 am

    It’s definitely a management problem if the office isn’t already adhering to these things on the list. I would think most of these things are common knowledge. However, that being said, I noticed when I worked in a large office they sent out similar emails because in a company that size there is always someone who seems to think they’re at home or out hanging out with friends rather than at work. At least with emails like this, those of us who understand basic work ethics don’t have to read them. 😛

    • Vanilla Chocolate / May 27 2013 12:49 pm

      The first comment and Vanilla’s opinion helped me look at this email from a neutral perspective. Even yours does the same. I guess it does not come across as strongly as it came across to me at the time. To be hones,t sometimes things like this make me feel like corporate cattle. lol
      A part of me resents these American companies which pay only a very small fraction of money that they earn through us -the outsourcing workers. I am thankful for my job for it pays for my bills and everything but at the the same time I cannot call it my dream job, since it wouldn’t be able to pay for me expenses if I thought that I would save up for 3-4 years and then go on a world tour or do something crazy like getting a nice apartment etc. To think that for the kind of work that I do, my company charges the client around $40 an hour and then pays me only around half of that amount for a whole day’s grind, sucks!
      But I am free to move to jobs/places that I think will treat/pay me for what I am worth, so the fight goes on….

Leave a Reply

