Skip to content
February 24, 2013 / Vanilla Chocolate

Racial Preference – Pissed at Mac-Donald’s in Hi-tech City, Hyderabad.


Last Friday I had the chance to sneak out for a quick lunch meal at the Mac-Donald’s close to my office in Hi-Tech city Hyderabad. The place was all jam packed when I stood in the line to order our meal. Minutes went by and the queue slowly moved forth, finally it was my turn. I noticed a white woman and a white man standing in the queue next to me, given the location was close to an American out-sourcing hub I am presuming they were Americans.

I had placed my order a good ten minutes before they had even arrived in the other queue. I was dismayed to see that they were served their packs of french fried very pleasantly by staff there. I was pissed because I had noticed how I had been in the line for a longer time than them and how the staff there was treating them I am all for fairness and I felt it was very unfair. I stared at the staff for what was quite long before I had to yell out. I said – “Well, I have been standing in the line for more than 10 minutes while these guys are only here and yet you’ve served them the fries” I nodded my head. The speaking up did the trick and I got our french fries within the next 30 seconds.

I am sure had I been standing there looking at them, I would easily stood there for another 10 minutes. There was another white couple behind me who had just finished placing their order! I find this kind of racial preference utterly annoying. It is a little hard for Indians like me, who when go abroad are given less preferences because they are foreigners and within India people have this inferiority complex that they let white skinned people have the first take. In my opinion it should be fair and square. Everyone should have equal social rights.

What have your experiences been when it comes to people being given preference based on their skin color or nationality ?

CHOCOLATE.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. sakshidayal / Feb 25 2013 12:38 am

    I know EXACTLY what you mean! I had a similar experience in the Delhi metro a couple of months back. http://sakshidayal.wordpress.com/2013/01/06/fair-and-lovely/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

