Skip to content
February 10, 2013 / Vanilla Chocolate

A walk through snow in Shimla:


I was back home in Shimla, over a month ago and it luckily we had snowfall on the penultimate day that I was there.

On the day that I was supposed to leave Shimla, there was snow on the roads and some of them were blocked in the morning. I had a flight to catch from Delhi the next day; I couldn’t afford to get late for. So, to assess the conditions I ventured out in my night-suit and realized I had my camera with me. What was supposed to be a 10 minute check up of the conditions outside turned into a 3-4 hour brisk walk in the snow. I walked right uptil the Ridge and the Mall Road in Shimla.

Needless to say, I got back to a very worried home. :P Here are some pictures that I captured of the beautiful Shimla that day:

Morning view out of my window in New Shimla.

Morning view out of my window in New Shimla.

Another "snowful" view out of my balcony

Another “snowful” view out of my balcony

BCS By-Pass, Shimla

Shimla - The queen of hills

Shimla – The queen of hills

Shimla - Near Toll Land in Snow

Shimla – Near Toll Land in Snow

beautiful Shimla Roads

beautiful Shimla Roads

Another Photograph Snow SHimla

Another Shot

Slope Snow

Near Lady Reading Hospital Shimla

Near Lady Reading Hospital Shimla

Near Lady Reading Hospital Shimla

Near Lady Reading Hospital Shimla

Snow Forest

Snow all around

The Mall Road - Shimla

The Mall Road – Shimla

View of the Ridge Shimla

View of the Ridge Shimla

View of Hanuman

View of Hanuman Idol, Jakhu Temple, Shimla

The Mall Road, Shimla

The Mall Road, Shimla

Woods in the Snow - Shimla

Woods in the Snow – Shimla

CHOCOLATE:

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. nadia / Feb 10 2013 8:56 pm

    Hi, Vanilla and Chocolate! Those pictures of Shimla are gorgeous! My husband and I are planning to visit by end of this month. I’m curious though – would I still be able to see this much snow by then? Let’s say two weeks from now?

    Thanks!

    • Vanilla Chocolate / Feb 10 2013 9:09 pm

      Hi Nadia,

      It generally snows in Shimla aroundDecember end, beginning of January and it only snows for around 3-4 days in Shimla per year. You would have to be very lucky to see some snow there in two weeks from now.

      I would recommend you to also see Manali and Kullu, they are beautiful.!
      Have a great trip. You could also look at my post Kaza the place to be, that is higher up in the Himalayas but those places are more adventurous with respect to the roads etc.

      Cheers CHOCOLATE.

      • nadia / Feb 10 2013 10:09 pm

        Thanks, Chocolate! I suppose it’s too late to see snow fall then :(

        Manali and Kullu sounds doable, but Kaza will have to wait. I’m so excited to visit Kashmir though and I really appreciate your suggestions.

  2. Himalayan Monk / Mar 4 2013 7:22 pm

    great pictures…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

